“Negative Nancy’s”

Over the past few years, I’ve noticed that people tend to tell me I’m to negative when it comes to outcomes or life. While that may be true, I’m starting to get tired of defending why I’m negative once in awhile. I don’t think I should have to tell people why I react the way I do, I don’t go around and ask people why they are so happy or positive about outcomes or life.

I’m not looking for everything to be depressing or gloomy, most of the time I’m happy and positive just like everyone else. I’m just stating that I feel that it is okay to be a “negative Nancy” every so often.

Sometimes you just have to be negative, sometimes you can’t see the silver lining no matter how hard you try. Even though you can’t see it right now, doesn’t mean it’s not there, I get that and I completely understand that.

Where I always get frustrated is when people tell me I’m wrong for being negative and that it’s bad. It’s not BAD, for some people it’s more realistic for them, and for some it’s how they are programmed so you can’t just tell someone that their outlook be it negative is “wrong” or “bad” just because you look at it differently.

Emotions are not like math problems, there isn’t one right answer, and being “negative” isn’t the wrong answer.

So from now on when someone calls me “negative” or “pessimistic” or “Nancy” I’m just going to say “Yes I am, and I’m completely okay with it.” No explanation, no defending.

Leave a Reply

